How to delete your Instagram account on iPhone



MichaelJayBerlin/Shutterstock.com

If you don’t want to continue using Instagram’s services, you can simply delete your account on your iPhone. You can then optionally uninstall the Instagram app to free up your phone’s storage space. We’ll show you how to do that.

What happens if you delete your Instagram account

When you delete your account, Instagram will delete all of your account data, including photos, videos, comments, likes, and followers. According to Instagramyour data will become inaccessible to you or others the moment you delete your account, but the platform will not actually start deleting the data internally until 30 days after your deletion request.

Instagram adds that it can take up to 90 days for your account information to be completely deleted. Even after this period has passed, the platform may have some of your data as a backup.

If you don’t want to permanently delete your account, it’s a good idea to deactivate your account. It allows you to take a break from your social media life without completely deleting your account.

If you’ve decided to delete your account completely, please consider downloading your account information and unlinking your Instagram and Facebook accounts first. Then follow the steps in the next section.

Delete your Instagram account from an iPhone

To delete your account, use a web browser on your iPhone, as the Instagram app does not have the option to delete your account.

Start by launching your favorite web browser on your iPhone and the Delete your account webpage. We use Safari for the demonstration.

On the web page, log in to the account you want to delete.

After logging in, tap the “Why do you want to delete?” button. [Account]† drop-down menu and select the reason why you are deleting your account.

After selecting a reason, tap the “Re-enter your password” field and type your Instagram account password. It is easy to recover your Instagram password if you have forgotten it.

Then tap on “Delete” [Account]” knob.

Tap “OK” in the prompt.

Warning: Make sure you agree to losing your account information before proceeding.

Instagram displays a date when your account information will be permanently deleted. Until that date comes, you can log in to your account again and reactivate it if you wish.

And that’s all there is to delete an Instagram account on an iPhone.

Delete the Instagram app on an iPhone

Now that you no longer have an Instagram account, you may want to delete the Instagram app from your iPhone. This will clean up your home screen and free up your phone’s storage space.

RELATED: How to Free Up Space on an iPhone or iPad

To do that, first find the Instagram app on your iPhone. Tap and hold the app icon until all your icons start to wiggle.

At the top left corner of the Instagram app icon, tap the “X” icon.

Choose “Delete” in the prompt.

And the Instagram app is now removed from your iPhone. Enjoying!

This way it is also quick and easy to delete your Facebook account if you want to.

RELATED: How to Delete Your Facebook Account



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.