Remove a Google account from Chrome


Google Chrome does not require a Google account to function. If you want to remove one or all of the Google accounts from Chrome, you can do that and still use the browser. We’ll show you how to do that on desktop and mobile.

Note: When you remove your Google account from Chrome, the browser will stop syncing and your browsing data will no longer be saved to your account. This means you won’t be able to access that data from other devices, so keep that in mind when deleting the account.

Unlink a Google account from Chrome on desktop

To unlink your Google account from Chrome on your desktop, first open Chrome and click on your profile icon in the top right corner.

In the profile menu that opens, next to “Other profiles,” click the gear icon.

you see a user switch window. Find the profile that contains the Google account you want to delete.

In the top right corner of that profile, click the three dots and choose “Delete.”

Chrome displays a warning that your browser data will be deleted if you sign out of your account. Continue by clicking “Delete”.

And your Google account is now unlinked from your Chrome browser. Your browser data will no longer be synced with your account, and that’s it.

RELATED: How to Delete Your Google Account

Unlink a Google account from Chrome on Android

To remove your Google account from Chrome for Android, first launch the Chrome app on your phone.

In the top right corner of Chrome, tap your profile icon.

You will see the “Settings” page. Tap your Google account here.

On your account page, tap “Sign out and turn off sync” at the bottom.

Choose “Continue” at the prompt.

Tip: If you want to remove your current browsing data from the Chrome app, enable the “Also clear your Chrome data from this device” option.

And that’s it. Your Chrome app is no longer signed in to your Google account.

RELATED: How to Sign Out of Gmail

Sign out of a Google account in Chrome on iPhone and iPad

To sign out of your Google account from Chrome on an iPhone or iPad, first launch Chrome on your phone.

In the top right corner of Chrome, tap your profile icon.

Choose your Google account on the “Settings” page that opens.

Tap “Sign Out” on the account page.

A prompt will appear at the bottom of your phone’s screen. To keep your Google account browsing data in the browser, select “Keep data” in the prompt. Otherwise, tap “Clear data.”

Your Apple device delete your Google account and you are all set.

If you’re trying to de-Google your life, there are also a few other ways to be less dependent on the big G.

RELATED: How to Remove Google From Your Life (And Why It’s Nearly Impossible)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.